How do I choose the best domain name and best domain name broker for my company or brand

ما هي العلامة التجارية؟ يناضل الكثير من الناس - حتى أولئك الذين يعملون في مجال العلامات التجارية - مع هذا السؤال: كيف يمكنني اختيار أفضل اسم لشركتي أو علامتي التجارية؟

في .COM, العلامات التجارية, الأصول الرقمية, أخبار المجال, المجالات المميزة بمقدار Brannans.com

ما هي العلامة التجارية؟

الكثير من الناس - حتى أولئك الذين في العلامات التجارية - يكافحون من أجل الإجابة على هذا السؤال:

كيف يمكنني اختيار أفضل اسم لشركتي أو علامتي التجارية؟

السؤال الحقيقي الذي يجب أن يبدأ به الجميع هو حقًا هذا:

كيف يمكنني اختيار أفضل اسم لشركتي أو علامتي التجارية؟

أسماء النطاقات ، في هذا اليوم وهذا العصر ، هي نفس اسم شركتك أو علامتك التجارية. يذهبون إلى الكتب كممتلكات غير ملموسة غير محددة العمر. أنها تمثل شكلا متخصصا للغاية من أشكال الملكية الفكرية. يمكن أن يؤدي اختيار وشراء اسم المجال الصحيح لشركتك أو علامتك التجارية إلى إنشاء أعمالك التجارية أو كسرها. لذا ، من الذي يجب أن تتحول إليه عندما يحين الوقت لاختيار اسم شركتك واسم المجال؟

يسأل نفس محامو الملكية الفكرية الذين تلجأ إليهم للحصول على المشورة بشأن العلامات التجارية والتسجيل ، بشكل عام ، المشورة والخدمات التي يقدمها وسيط اسم نطاق موثوق مثل Brannans.com لاقتناء (أو بيع) أسماء نطاق الكأس العامة التي تحقق أفضل العلامات التجارية - إما كأسماء الشركة أو المنتجات الجديدة التي أطلقتها تلك الشركات.

لذا ، إذا كان لديك هذا السؤال ، "كيف يمكنني اختيار أفضل اسم نطاق وعلامة تجارية لشركتي" ، فقد وصلت إلى المكان الصحيح. كتم صوت هاتفك ، وأغلق الكمبيوتر المحمول ، وأغلق الباب ، واستغرق بعض الوقت للتفكير في العلامات التجارية من البداية وحتى الـ21شارع مئة عام.

استمرت العلامات التجارية للماشية منذ ما لا يقل عن 4700 عام ، وربما لفترة أطول. تُعد لوحة المقبرة المصرية القديمة التي تُصوَّر في تقرير عن الماشية والعلامة التجارية منذ عام 2700 قبل الميلاد أول سجل للعلامات التجارية للماشية.

في الأعمال التجارية ، بدأ استخدام مصطلح "العلامة التجارية" في أواخر الثمانينات من القرن الماضي عندما بدأت البضائع المعبأة مثل Coca-Cola في الإقلاع. تم استخدام علامة كوكا كولا للتمييز بين المنتجات المماثلة التي صنعتها شركات أخرى. مع تقدم العلامة التجارية ، أدرك المسوقون أن هناك علامة تجارية لشركة Coca-Cola أكثر من مجرد اسم غير عام. عرّف ديفيد أوجيلفي ، "والد الإعلان" ، العلامة التجارية بأنها "مجموع غير ملموس لسمات المنتج". "قاموس العلامة التجارية يعرّفها على أنها" تصور الشخص لمنتج أو خدمة أو تجربة أو مؤسسة.

يُعرِّف مارتي نيوميير ، المؤلف والمتحدث في العلامة التجارية لكل الأشياء ، العلامة التجارية من خلال تحديد ما لا تمثله العلامة التجارية أولاً: "العلامة التجارية ليست شعارًا. العلامة التجارية ليست هوية. يمضي نيوميير إلى القول إن "العلامة التجارية هي إحساس شخص ما بمنتج أو خدمة أو مؤسسة" عندما يسمعون أو يقرؤون اسم علامتك التجارية. مع تطور العلامة التجارية ، أصبحت العلامات التجارية أكثر ذاتية - المزيد عن التصور والمعنى المتراكم.

ببساطة ، "علامتك التجارية" هي ما يفكر فيه عميلك عندما يسمع اسم العلامة التجارية أو المجال الخاص بك. إنه كل ما يعتقدون أنهم يعرفونه عن شركتك - كلاهما واقعي (على سبيل المثال ، يأتي في صندوق روبن بيض أزرق) ، وعاطفي (على سبيل المثال إنه رومانسي). اسم العلامة التجارية الخاص بك موجود بموضوعية ؛ يمكن للناس رؤيته. انها ثابتة. لكن علامتك التجارية موجودة فقط في ذهن شخص ما. في الواقع ، فإن إحدى الطرق التي نرى أحيانًا أن العلامة التجارية تزداد قوة هي عندما يبدأ عملائها في الإشارة إليها بشيء مختلف عن اسم علامتها التجارية. فكر في "Career.com" لطلاب الدراسات العليا الذين يبحثون عن وظائف أو "Bulldogs.com" لعشاق الرياضة في جميع أنحاء العالم بالتأصيل لفريق كرة القدم أو لعبة الركبي المفضلة لديهم.

لذا ، لماذا يتم تحديد ما هي العلامة التجارية صعبة للغاية؟ ما هي الأفكار التي يمكن أن نجمعها من هذه الصعوبة؟

العلامات التجارية تعني أشياء مختلفة لأشخاص مختلفين في أوقات مختلفة. تعني العلامة التجارية الواحدة شيئًا فريدًا لكل شخص - سواء أكان مستهلكًا حاليًا أو مستهلكًا محتملًا أو موظفًا أو مجندًا ، أو داخل العالم ككل بشكل عام. العلامات التجارية ديناميكية. يمكنهم لعب دور مختلف بناءً على من يتفاعلون معه ومتى. يتواصل بعض الأشخاص مع جوانب معينة من العلامة التجارية ، بينما يتصل البعض الآخر بجدية. في كثير من الأحيان ، يمكن أن تتطور علاقة الشخص بعلامة تجارية بالفعل - زيادة الثقة والولاء والمعنى والمشاركة. تعمل العلامات التجارية الذكية والناجحة على الوصول إلى جميع الجماهير المختلفة التي تهم أعمالهم وتهدف إلى تعزيز علاقاتهم التجارية مع كل فرد.

 

تتمثل مهمتنا في Brannans.com في مساعدتك في الحصول على اسم النطاق المثالي لتقديم قيمك وعودك لزوار الموقع الجدد والعائدين كل يوم. هدفنا هو مساعدتك في الحصول على اسم النطاق المثالي.

أصبح مفهوم العلامة التجارية معقدًا للغاية ومتنوعًا للغاية ، ومن الصعب تحديد أن تعريفًا واحدًا لا يفي بالغرض حقًا. أول ما نقترحه على عميل جديد ، لأسباب عديدة ، هو أن الكلمات التي يفكرون بها يجب أن تكون سهلة القول والتهجئة. تتبادر إلى الذهن علامة تجارية مثل Baby.com ، مملوكة لشركة جونسون آند جونسون. تتضمن بعض العلامات التجارية المصطلح المحدد للفئة الذي تعمل فيه الشركة - Flowers.com أو Cars.com أو Batteries.com

ابتداءً من الجزء الأخير من القرن العشرين ، بدأ المسوقون في إدراك وجود تصور للمنتجات والخدمات المميزة أكثر من أسمائهم - وهو ما وصفه ديفيد أوجيلفي بأنه "المبلغ غير المادي لسمات المنتج". تصور محدد في أذهان العملاء فيما يتعلق بصفات وسمات كل منتج أو خدمة غير عامة.

domain name broker buy sell acquisition domain name registration

مهمة Brannans.com: لمساعدتك في الحصول على اسم النطاق المثالي لتقديم قيمك وعودك للزائرين الجدد والعائدين كل يوم.

في Brannans.com ، نساعد الشركات على الحصول على اسم النطاق المثالي لعلاماتها التجارية حتى لو لم يكن اسم المجال للبيع. العلامات التجارية تدور حول المشاعر ، والمشاعر معقدة. لذلك ، عندما تسأل الناس عن سبب حبهم لعلامات تجارية معينة ، يكون من الصعب عليهم في كثير من الأحيان وضع الكلمات. قد يقدمون قائمة بالأسباب المنطقية والمنطقية ، ولكن في النهاية ، غالبًا ما يكون الأمر مشاعرًا. كيف هذه العلامة التجارية حقا تجعلهم يشعرون؟ ولماذا يعودون لمزيد من هذا الشعور؟ لماذا هذا الشعور يعني شيئا بالنسبة لهم؟ العلامات التجارية الناجحة اليوم مغروسة دائمًا. لديهم معنى عاطفي كبير للأشخاص وهذا ما يجعل هذه العلامة التجارية محترمة ومحترمة.

غالبًا ما يتم استخدام العلامات التجارية المعروفة والمعروفة جيدًا لتحديد ماهية العلامة التجارية.

في أكثر الأحيان ، مسألة تحديد العلامة التجارية التي يتم الإجابة عليها من خلال قائمة العلامات التجارية المشهورة والمعروفة. Think CNN - Money.com ، Barnes & Noble - Books.com ، 1-800-flowers - Flowers.com ، إلخ. على الرغم من أن هذه الأمثلة يمكن أن تكشف الكثير عن ماهية العلامة التجارية ، فقط التفكير في التعريف من حيث هذه العلامات الكبيرة أسماء ليست كافية. النظر في جميع أنواع العلامات التجارية - الكبيرة والصغيرة والعالمية والمحلية والجديدة والقديمة. ربما تفكر في الشركات التي تفتقر إلى العلامة التجارية وما الذي يجعلها مختلفة عن الشركات التي قامت ببناء علامة تجارية تعتمد عليها. هناك الكثير لنتعلمه من جميع العلامات التجارية التي نتفاعل معها كل يوم. كل علامة تجارية لها معنى بسبب شيء مختلف ، وهذا غالبًا ما يميز العلامة التجارية ويجعلها قوية للأشخاص الذين تهمهم.

غالبًا ما يكون تحديد الأثر الذي يمكن أن تحدثه العلامة التجارية أسهل من تحديد ماهية العلامة التجارية. عندما نتحدث عن تسمية شركة ، والحصول على اسم النطاق ، وتحديد ماهية علامتك التجارية ، لا يوجد حل واحد يناسب الجميع ، لكننا نعتقد أن بعض النقاط التي نعالجها ستساعدك في معرفة ما إذا كنت إعادة في هذا الموقف.

تسمية شركتك والمجال أمر صعب ، انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية القيام بذلك.

            تتطور علامة الخدمة مع انتقال الشركات من المنتجات الصناعية إلى تقديم حلول كاملة وخدمات غير ملموسة. تتميز العلامات التجارية للخدمة بالحاجة إلى الحفاظ على مستوى عالٍ ومتسق من تقديم الخدمات. هذه الفئة تشمل ما يلي:

  • علامات الخدمة الكلاسيكية (خطوط دلتا الجوية ، ويلز فارجو)
  • مقدمو الخدمات الصرفة (جمعية السرطان الأمريكية | ACS)
  • علامات الخدمة المهنية (JP Morgan)
  • الوكلاء (Expedia ، Hotwire ، Trivago)
  • ماركات التجزئة (Publix ، Kroger ، Nike ، Adidas)

العلامات التجارية المنظمة هي الشركات والكيانات الأخرى التي تقدم المنتجات والخدمات. تمتلك كل من مرسيدس ومجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي علامات تجارية قوية ، ولكل منها صفات مرتبطة بها تشكل علامتها التجارية. يمكن أيضًا ربط المنظمات ارتباطًا وثيقًا بعلامة الفرد. على سبيل المثال ، يرتبط الحزب الديمقراطي الأمريكي ارتباطًا وثيقًا مع بيل وهيلاري كلينتون وباراك أوباما. يمكن اعتبار الشخص علامة تجارية. يمكن أن تتكون من فرد واحد ، كما في حالات أوبرا وينفري أو ميك جاغر. أو قد يتكون من عدد قليل من الأفراد ، حيث ترتبط العلامة التجارية بشخصيات مختلفة. مع ظهور الإنترنت والوسائط الاجتماعية ، توفر ظاهرة العلامات التجارية الشخصية الأدوات والتقنيات لأي شخص تقريبًا لإنشاء علامة تجارية من حوله.

            تحدث العلامة التجارية للمجموعة عندما يكون هناك مجموعة صغيرة من الكيانات ذات العلامات التجارية التي لها حقوق ملكية متداخلة ومتداخلة. على سبيل المثال ، ترتبط العلامة التجارية لمجموعة OWN لشبكة Oprah Winfrey Network والعلامة التجارية لأعضائها المعروفين (Oprah وفريقها) ارتباطًا وثيقًا. بالمثل ، تمثل رولينج ستونز علامة تجارية جماعية مرتبطة بقوة بالماركات الشخصية لأعضائها (الأكثر ثباتًا ، ميك جاغر ، كيث ريتشاردز ، روني وود ، وتشارلي واتس).

            يمكن أن تصبح الأحداث علامات تجارية عندما تسعى جاهدة لتقديم تجربة متسقة تجذب ولاء المستهلك. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك المؤتمرات سلسلة TED. المهرجانات الموسيقية مثل Coachella. الأحداث الرياضية مثل الألعاب الأولمبية أو ناسكار ؛ والتجول في المسرحيات الموسيقية برودواي مثل الأشرار. تعتمد قوة هذه العلامات التجارية على تجربة الأشخاص الذين حضروا الحدث. يدرك مدراء العلامات التجارية الأذكياء من المنتجات والخدمات وأنواع العلامات التجارية الأخرى قوة العلامات التجارية للأحداث ويسعون إلى ربط علاماتهم التجارية بالعلامات التجارية للأحداث من خلال الرعاية. رعاية الحدث هي الآن شركة كبيرة مزدهرة.

تسعى العديد من الأماكن أو المناطق في العالم إلى العلامة التجارية نفسها لزيادة الوعي بالصفات الأساسية التي تقدمها. يمكن أن تتراوح الأماكن ذات العلامات التجارية بين الدول والولايات إلى المدن والشوارع وحتى المباني. أولئك الذين يحكمون أو يمثلون هذه المناطق الجغرافية يعملون بجد لتطوير العلامة التجارية. يتم استخدام العلامات التجارية الجغرافية بشكل متكرر لجذب التجارة والاستثمار الاقتصادي والسياحة والمقيمين الجدد وما إلى ذلك. العلامات التجارية ذات العلامات التجارية الخاصة التي تسمى أيضًا العلامات التجارية الخاصة ، أو العلامات التجارية للمحلات التجارية ، موجودة بين تجار التجزئة الذين يمتلكون هوية قوية بشكل خاص (مثل Save-A-Lot). قد تشير الملصقات الخاصة إلى الجودة العالية أو "التحديد" أو التكلفة المنخفضة لمنتج ذي جودة.

تشمل العلامات التجارية الإعلامية الصحف والمجلات والقنوات التلفزيونية مثل CNN. العلامات التجارية الإلكترونية موجودة فقط في العالم الافتراضي. تركز العديد من العلامات التجارية الإلكترونية ، مثل Amazon.com ، بشكل أساسي على توفير واجهة أمامية عبر الإنترنت لتقديم منتجات أو خدمات مادية. يقدم آخرون المعلومات والخدمات غير الملموسة لفائدة المستهلكين. عادة ، يتمثل القاسم المشترك بين العلامات التجارية الإلكترونية في التركيز على تقديم خدمة قيمة أو خبرة في البيئة الافتراضية.

أحد العوامل الخمسة لإصرار العلامة التجارية للعميل هو "القيمة". بينما تتألف القيمة من أكثر من مجرد سعر (حزمة منفعة ، جودة مدركة ، وما إلى ذلك) ، من المهم أن نفهم السعر لتقديم قيمة علامة تجارية قوية. فيما يلي بعض المفاهيم التي قد تجدها مفيدة وأنت تحدد سعر منتجات وخدمات علامتك التجارية.

            غالبًا ما يقارن الأشخاص سعر العلامة التجارية بـ "السعر المرجعي" الذي يحتفظون به في أذهانهم للعلامة التجارية المعنية. "السعر المرجعي" هو السعر الذي يتوقعه الناس أو يعتبرونه معقولًا لنوع معين من العلامة التجارية

في عام 1985 ، أصدرت هيئة الأرقام المخصصة للإنترنت (IANA) ستة أسماء نطاقات المستوى الأعلى. أصبحت نطاقات المستوى الأعلى (TLD) تُعرف باسم امتدادات اسم المجال وتمثل أعلى مستوى في التسلسل الهرمي لنظام اسم المجال. يشملوا:

  • .com: اختصار لـ التجارية ، كان .com أول نطاق من المستوى الأعلى شائع الاستخدام. بينما تم إنشاء .com في البداية للاستخدام من قبل المؤسسات التجارية ، لم تكن القيود المفروضة على ذلك صارمة. بحلول منتصف التسعينيات من القرن العشرين ، أصبح .com من أكثر أنواع المستوى الأعلى شيوعًا والأكثر استخدامًا للشركات والمواقع والبريد الإلكتروني.
  • .net: اختصار للشبكة ، تم إنشاء .net صراحة للمعاهد التي شاركت في تقنيات الشبكات مثل مزود خدمة الإنترنت أو شركة البنية التحتية. كما هو الحال مع .com ، لم يتم التمسك مطلقًا بالقيود التي تهدف إلى قصر نطاق .net على أغراض التواصل ، وأصبحت واحدة من أكثر نطاقات المستوى الأعلى شيوعًا ، حيث يرى الكثيرون أنها قريبة جدًا من استخدام نطاق المستوى الأعلى .com.
  • .edu: اختصار للتعليم ، تم إجراء .edu للمؤسسات التعليمية. على الرغم من أنه كان مخصصًا للجامعات في كل مكان ، إلا أن TLD .edu أصبح مرتبطًا بالمراكز التعليمية فقط في أمريكا. ستستخدم مدارس من بلدان أخرى .edu بالاقتران مع نطاقها على مستوى البلد ، والذي سنناقشه في القسم التالي أدناه.
  • .org: اختصار للتنظيم ، تم إنشاء .org للمنظمات غير الربحية. كما رأينا مع نطاقات المستوى الأعلى الأخرى ، لم يتم دعم هذه النوايا أو فرضها بمرور الوقت. في هذه الأيام ، يتم استخدام .ors كنطاق المستوى الأعلى من قبل المنظمات غير الربحية والشركات والمدارس والمجتمعات التي تهدف إلى الربح.
  • .mil: اختصار للجيش ، تم إنشاء .mil صراحة للفروع العسكرية الأمريكية. على عكس الأنواع الأخرى المختلفة لنطاقات المستوى الأعلى ، لا يزال هذا التقييد مدعومًا. الآن ، من الشائع للغاية بالنسبة لـ .mil استخدام نطاقات المستوى الثاني والثالث بالتزامن مع .mil TLD.
  • .gov: الاختصار للحكومة ، .gov ، مثل .mil ، كان مقيدًا بالنسبة للوكالات الحكومية الفيدرالية الأمريكية واستخدام الموظفين فقط. في هذه الأيام ، يتم استخدام .gov بواسطة الوكالات الحكومية والبرامج والمدن والولايات والبلدات والمقاطعات والقبائل الأمريكية الأصلية.

ماذا لو كان اسم النطاق المميز ليس للبيع؟

لقد حان الكثير من ccTLDs و TLDs الأخرى منذ تقديم .com TLD في عام 1985. لم تكن هناك حالة استخدام في الولايات المتحدة لنطاق TLD سيتم استخدامها أكثر من .com. أصابعنا ، إذا كنا في الولايات المتحدة ، من الطبيعي أن تكتب com بعد كل ما سمعناه. نسمع Meet.me ، نكتب في meetme.com. أمضت Overstock الملايين في محاولة لإعادة تسمية علامة O.co وكان عليهم العودة إلى Overstock.com لأنها كانت مربكة لعملائهم. بغض النظر عن ما يخبرك به أي شخص ، فإن .com هو TLD الوحيد الذي يهم حقًا لسوق الولايات المتحدة. إذا كان عليك اختيار بدائل ، ففكر في .net أو .co أو .io ولكن ضع في اعتبارك أن ما يصل إلى 50% من حركة المرور على موقع الويب ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني المتوقعة الخاصة بك قد تذهب إلى الشركة أو الفرد الذي يملك .com.

URL domain name TLD ccTLD .com .net .io

عند النظر في أسماء النطاقات ، لديك أسماء مجالات الكأس التي أصبحت أقوى من أي وقت مضى في عام 2019. في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، تم بيع اسم .com.com المكون من 5 أحرف ، مقطع واحد ، ومكون من كلمة واحدة ، Voice.com بسعر $30،000،000. فقط لاسم المجال. هم أيضا عام في الطبيعة. إنها تمثل عمومًا الكلمات الرئيسية التي تحدد الفئة (Batteries.com ، و Career.com ، و Doctors.com) ، ولكنها قد تكون حيوانات (Bulldogs.com ، و Devils.com ، و Gophers.com) أو أي شيء آخر قصير ولا يُنسى (Meme.com ، Dojo .com ، Canes.com). تم الكشف عن قيمة عملية الشراء السرية التي تمت في البداية لشهر نوفمبر 2010 من موقع Facebook على موقع FB.com بعد شهرين بمبلغ $8.5 مليون دولار نقدًا والباقي في المخزون. اشترت GMO Internet، Inc. Z.com مقابل حوالي $6.8 مليون من شركة نيسان ، التي استخدمتها سابقًا لسيارات سلسلة نيسان Z. كما ترون ، إذا كنت تفكر في شراء اسم نطاق الكأس ، فسيتطلب الأمر استثمارات كبيرة.

للنظر في أسماء النطاقات الممتازة التي تملكها الشركات الكبرى ، انقر هنا.

أفضل وسيط اسم المجال

عندما يتعلق الأمر بعمليات شراء أسماء النطاقات ، وليس للبيع ، فقد مثلنا العديد من الشركات وساعدناها في الحصول على الأصول التي تريدها. لا ينبغي عليك محاولة الاستيلاء على اسم نطاق لهذه العيار دون الاحتفاظ بخدمات شركة سمسرة محترفة متمثلة لتمثيل اهتماماتك. لقد عملنا مع شركات من جميع الأحجام لمساعدتها في الحصول على اسم النطاق الذي تريده. نحن نعمل بانتظام مع الشركات المتداولة علنا. نعمل أيضًا بشكل منتظم مع الشركات الناشئة التي تتراوح من تلك التي يتم إقلاعها إلى تلك التي رفعت الجولة من السلسلة E.

عندما نعمل على جانب الشراء لمساعدة الشركة على الحصول على اسم النطاق المثالي الذي يدعم علامتها التجارية ، فإننا نعلم أننا نساعدهم على النجاح. هذا النوع من الشراء هو أكثر من مجرد شراء أثاث مكتبي أو توريد سلع. يتعلق الأمر بمساعدتهم في الحصول على منصة التسويق والعلامات التجارية المناسبة لأعمالهم. يمكن لنطاق .COM المثالي ، القصير ، أن يحدث فرقًا كبيرًا في مساعدة الأعمال التجارية على النمو - من رواد الأعمال المبتدئين إلى شركات Fortune 500.

عندما نعمل على جانب البيع ، فإننا عادة ما نعمل مع رجل أعمال أو مستثمر حالي استحوذ على المجال منذ فترة طويلة واستخدمناه لإدارة أعمالهم أو الاحتفاظ بها كأصل. عادة ما يحتاجون إلى زيادة عائدهم لإطلاق مشروعهم التالي.

للحصول على معلومات حول جودة الصفقة ونجاح الصفقة انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد حول هذا الموضوع.

هل أنت مهتم بمناقشة سرية بدون التزام حول استراتيجية علامتك التجارية وأسماء نطاقاتك؟ نحن نحب أن نسمع منك. اتصل Brannans.com الآن لإعداد استشارة مجانية لمدة 15 دقيقة.

How do I choose the best domain name and best domain name broker for my company or brand

What is a brand? A lot of people – even those in branding – struggle with this question: How do I choose the best name for my company or brand?

In .COM, Branding, Digital Assets, Domain News, Premium Domains by Brannans.com

What is a brand?

A lot of people – even those in branding – struggle with answering this question:

How do I choose the best name for my company or brand?

The real question everyone should start with is really this one:

How do I choose the best domain name for my company or brand?

Domain names, in this day and age, are the same as your company or brand. They go on the books as indefinite-lived intangible assets. They represent a very specialized form of intellectual property. Picking and purchasing the right domain name for your company or brand can literally make or break your business. So, who should you turn to when it comes time to pick your company name and domain name?

The same intellectual property attorneys that you turn to for trademark advice and registration generally seek advice and the services of a trusted domain name broker like Brannans.com for the acquisition (or sale) of generic trophy domain names that will make the best brands – either as company names or as new products launched by those companies.

So, if you have this question, “how do I pick the best domain name and brand for my company,” you’ve come to the right place. Mute your phone, close the laptop, shut the door, and take some time to consider branding from the beginning to the 21st century.

Livestock branding has been going on for at least 4,700 years, and likely longer. An ancient Egyptian tomb painting depicting a cattle roundup and branding from 2700 BC is the earliest record of livestock branding.

In business, the term “brand” started getting used in the late 1880s when packaged goods like Coca-Cola started taking off. The Coca-Cola brand was used to differentiate similar products made by other companies. As branding progressed, marketers realized there was more to the brand of Coca-Cola than just a non-generic name. David Ogilvy, the “Father of Advertising,” defined the brand as “the intangible sum of a product’s attributes. “The Dictionary of a brand defines it as “a person’s perception of a product, service, experience, or organization.

Marty Neumeier, author and speaker on all things brand, defines the brand by first laying out what a brand is not: “A brand is not a logo. A brand is not an identity. A brand is not a product.” Neumeier goes on to say that “a brand is a person’s gut feeling about a product, service, or organization” when they hear or read your brand name. As branding has evolved, brands have become more subjective – more about perception and accumulated meaning.

Put simply, your “brand” is what your customer thinks of when he or she hears your brand or domain name. It’s everything they think they know about your company — both factual (e.g. It comes in a robin’s-egg-blue box), and emotional (e.g. It’s romantic). Your brand name exists objectively; people can see it. It’s fixed. But your brand exists only in someone’s mind. In fact, one of the ways we sometimes see that a brand is growing stronger is when its customers start referring to it by something different from its brand name. Think “Career.com” for graduate students looking for careers or “Bulldogs.com” for sports fans all over the globe rooting for their favorite football or rugby team.

So, why is defining what a brand is so difficult? What insights can we gather from this difficulty?

Brands mean different things to different people at different times. A single brand means something unique to each person – be it a current consumer, potential consumer, employee, recruit, or just within the world at large. Brands are dynamic. They can play a different role depending on who they interact with and when. Some people connect with certain aspects of a brand, while others connect meaningfully with another. And often times, a person’s relationship with a brand can really develop – increasing trust, loyalty, meaning, and engagement. Smart and successful brands work on reaching all the different audiences who matter to their business and aim to further their brand relationships with each individual.

 

At Brannans.com, our mission is to help you get the perfect domain name to deliver your values and promises to new and returning website visitors every day. Our goal is to help you get the perfect domain name.

The concept of brand has become so complicated, so varied, and so hard to pin down that a single definition really doesn’t do it justice. The first thing we suggest to a new client, for many reasons, is that the words they consider must be easy to say and spell. A brand like Baby.com, owned by Johnson & Johnson, comes to mind. Some brands include the category-defining term that the company does business in – Flowers.com, Cars.com, or Batteries.com

Beginning in the later part of the 20th century, marketers began to grasp there was more to the perception of distinctive products and services than their names — something David Ogilvy described as “the intangible sum of a product’s attributes.” Marketers realized that they could create a specific perception in customers’ minds concerning the qualities and attributes of each non-generic product or service.

domain name broker buy sell acquisition domain name registration

Brannans.com Mission: To help you get the perfect domain name to deliver your values and promises to new and returning visitors every day.

At Brannans.com, we help companies get the perfect domain name for their brand even if that domain name isn’t for sale. Brands are about feelings, and feelings are complicated. So, when you ask people why they love certain brands, it’s often hard for them to put into words. They might provide a list of rational and logical reasons, but in the end, it often comes down to a feeling. How does that brand really make them feel? And why do they come back for more of that feeling? Why does that feeling mean something to them? Successful brands today are always emotionally infused. They hold great emotional meaning for people and that’s what makes that brand loved and respected.

Highly recognizable, well-known brands are often used to define what a brand is.

More often than not, the question of defining what a brand is answered with a list of popular, well-known, established brands. Think CNN – Money.com, Barnes & Noble – Books.com, 1-800-flowers – Flowers.com, etc. Although these examples can reveal a lot about what a brand is, just thinking of the definition in terms of these big names isn’t enough. Consider all types of brands – big and small, global and local, new and old. Maybe even consider what businesses lack a brand and what makes them different from businesses that have built a brand they rely on. There’s a lot to learn from all the brands we interact with every day. Each brand is meaningful because of something different, and this is often what differentiates a brand and makes it powerful to the people who matter to it.

Defining the impact a brand can have is often easier than defining what a brand is. When we talk about naming a company, getting the domain name, and defining what your brand is, there isn’t a one-size-fits-all solution, but we do think a few points we address will help you out if you’re in this position.

Naming your company and domain is tricky, click here for more information on how to do it.

            A service brand develops as companies move from manufacturing products to delivering complete solutions and intangible services. Service brands are characterized by the need to maintain a consistently high level of service delivery. This category includes the following:

  • Classic service brands (Delta Airlines, Wells Fargo)
  • Pure service providers (American Cancer Society | ACS)
  • Professional service brands (J.P Morgan)
  • Agents (Expedia, Hotwire, Trivago)
  • Retail brands (Publix, Kroger, Nike, Adidas)

Organization brands are companies and other entities that deliver products and services. Mercedes and the U.S. Senate each possess strong organization brands, and each has associated qualities that make up their brand. Organizations can also be linked closely with the brand of an individual. For example, the U.S. Democratic Party is closely linked with Bill and Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama. A person can be considered a brand. It can be comprised of one individual, as in the cases of Oprah Winfrey or Mick Jagger. Or it may be composed of a few individuals, where the branding is associated with different personalities. With the advent of the Internet and social media, the phenomenon of personal branding offers tools and techniques for virtually anyone to create a brand around themselves.

            Group branding happens when there is a small group of branded entities that have overlapping, interconnected brand equity. For example, the OWN group brand of the Oprah Winfrey Network and the brand of its known members (Oprah and her team) are strongly connected. Similarly, the Rolling Stones represents a group brand that is strongly associated with the personal brands of its members (most enduringly, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ronnie Wood, and Charlie Watts).

            Events can become brands when they strive to deliver a consistent experience that attracts consumer loyalty. Examples include conferences the TED series; music festivals like Coachella; sporting events like the Olympics or NASCAR; and touring Broadway musicals like Wicked. The strength of these brands depends on the experience of people attending the event. Savvy brand managers from product, service, and other types of brands realize the power of event brands and seek to have their brands associated with the event brands through sponsorships. Event sponsorship is now a thriving big business.

Many places or areas of the world seek to brand themselves to build awareness of the essential qualities they offer. Branded places can range from countries and states to cities, streets, and even buildings. Those who govern or represent these geographies work hard to develop the brand. Geographic branding is used frequently to attract commerce and economic investment, tourism, new residents, and so on. Private-label brands also called own brands, or store brands, exist among retailers that possess a particularly strong identity (such as Save-A-Lot). Private labels may denote superior, “select” quality, or lower cost for a quality product.

Media brands include newspapers, magazines, and television channels such as CNN. E-brands exist only in the virtual world. Many e-brands, such as Amazon.com, have a central focus on providing an online front end for delivering physical products or services. Others provide information and intangible services to benefit consumers. Typically, a common denominator among e-brands is the focus on delivering a valued service or experience in the virtual environment.

One of the five drivers of customer brand insistence is “value.” While value is comprised of more than just price (benefit bundle, perceived quality, etc.), it’s important to understand pricing to deliver strong brand value. The following are some concepts that you may find useful as you determine price for your brand’s products and services.

            People often compare a brand’s price to a “reference price” that they maintain in their minds for the brand in question. A “reference price” is the price that people expect or deem to be reasonable for a certain type of brand

In 1985, The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) released six top-level domain names. These top-level domains (TLD) became known as domain name extensions and represent the highest level in the Domain Name System hierarchy. They include:

  • .com: shorthand for commercial, .com was the first top-level domain in common use. While .com was initially created for use by commercial organizations, restrictions on this were not stringent. By the mid-1990’s, .com had become the most popular and commonly used type of top-level domain for businesses, websites, and email.
  • .net: shorthand for network, .net was created expressly for institutes that partook in network technologies such as an internet service provider or an infrastructure company. Like with .com, the restrictions meant to limit .net to networking purposes, was never upheld and it became one of the more popular top-level domains, with many seeing it as a close second to using the .com top level domain.
  • .edu: shorthand for education, .edu was made for education institutions. Although it was intended for universities everywhere, the TLD .edu became associated with only educational centers in America. Schools from other countries will use .edu in conjunction with their country-level domain, which we will discuss in the next section below.
  • .org: shorthand for organization, .org was created for nonprofits. As we’ve seen with these other top-level domains, such intentions were often not upheld or enforced over time. These days, .ors is used as top-level domain by nonprofits, for-profit businesses, schools, and communities.
  • .mil: shorthand for military, .mil was created expressly for U.S. military branches. Unlike the other different types of top-level domains, this restriction is still upheld. Now, it is quite common for .mil to use second and third-level domains in conjunction with the .mil TLD.
  • .gov: shorthand for government, .gov, like .mil, was restricted for American federal governmental agencies and personnel use only. These days, .gov is used by governmental agencies, programs, cities, states, towns, counties, and native American tribes.

What if a premium domain name is not for sale?

Many, many other ccTLDs and TLDs have come since the introduction of the .com TLD in 1985. There has never been a use case in the US of a TLD that will be used more than the .com. Our fingers, if we’re in the US, naturally type in .com after whatever we’ve heard. We hear Meet.me, we type in meetme.com. Overstock famously spent millions trying to rebrand as O.co and they had to go back to Overstock.com because it was confusing their customers. No matter what anyone tells you, .com is the only TLD that really matters for the US market. If you have to pick alternates, consider .net, .co, or .io but keep in mind that up to 50% of your anticipated website traffic and emails may go to the company or individual that owns the .com.

URL domain name TLD ccTLD .com .net .io

When considering domain names, you have trophy domains names which are stronger than ever in 2019. Earlier this year, the 5-letter, 1-syllable, 1-word .com domain name voice.com sold for $30,000,000. Just for the domain name. They’re also generic in nature. They generally represent category defining keywords (Batteries.com, Career.com, Doctors.com) but they could be animals (Bulldogs.com, Devils.com, Gophers.com) or something else that’s short and memorable (Meme.com, Dojo.com, Canes.com). The value of the initially secret November 2010 Facebook purchase of FB.com was revealed two months later to be $8.5 million in cash and the rest in stock. GMO Internet, Inc. purchased Z.com for nearly $6.8 million from Nissan, who previously used it for the Nissan Z series cars. As you can see, if you’re considering a purchase of a trophy domain name, it’s going to require a significant investment.

To look at premium domain names owned by major companies, click here.

Best domain name broker

When it comes to acquisitions of domain names, not for sale, we’ve represented many companies and helped them get the assets they want. You shouldn’t try to make a grab for a domain name of this caliber without retaining the services of a seasoned professional brokerage firm to represent your interests. We have worked with companies of all sizes to help them get the domain name they want. We regularly work with publicly traded companies. We also regularly work with startups ranging from those that are bootstrapped to those that have raised a Series E round.

When we are working on the buy-side to help a business acquire the perfect domain name that supports their brand, we know that we are helping them succeed. This kind of purchase is more than buying office furniture or sourcing commodities. It’s about helping them get the right branding and marketing platform for their business. The perfect, short, .COM domain can make a huge difference in helping a business grow – from start-up entrepreneurs to Fortune 500 enterprises.

When we are working on the sell-side, we are usually working with an existing entrepreneur or investor that acquired the domain a long time ago and used it to run their business or maintained it as an asset. Usually, they need to maximize their return to launch their next venture.

For information on Deal Quality and Deal Success click here to learn more about it.

Interested in a confidential, no-obligation discussion about your brand strategy and domain names? We’d love to hear from you. Contact Brannans.com now to set up a free 15 minute consultation.